Hayley is a Ghost

The Gonzo Giveaway – #QEDcon

Posted on: December 17, 2011

*update Dec 19th* I have now opened this up to everyone, disability or not. Please apply if you are interested, and I will draw the winner on Friday, Dec 23rd. 

The very generous Chris Hofstader recently got in touch to offer me two free tickets to QEDcon next March to give away to someone who needs them. Chris was supposed to be attending with his friend Mia, but unfortunately, due to suddenly needing a new boiler he can no longer afford the trip over. Chris says:

I would like to ask that my pair, The Gonzo Giveaway, go to persons with disability but, if we can’t find any, hand them out as per the previous procedure.

Rather than getting people to apply for these tickets that’ll be won by someone who is selected at random I am simply opening this up to the first person that would like them. I would ask that right now only those with a disability apply as per Chris’ request. Perhaps you need a carer to assist you and couldn’t afford to buy a ticket for you and your carer? Here’s your chance.

If I cannot find someone then I will open proceedings up for people to apply for the free tickets as I did previously. I will add new applicants to the ones who didn’t win last time and then draw the winners on a selected date.

So yes. If you have a disability and want the free tickets please get in touch now and we can get this sorted. If not, watch this space – I will update what is happening with the tickets on Monday Morning (December 19th).

Thank you, Chris. This is really generous of you and it will be a shame to not meet you in person.

2 Responses to "The Gonzo Giveaway – #QEDcon"

I really hope that no matter who gets these thickets that they have a terrific time at the conference.

I do regret missing the conference this year. I really enjoy my daily doses of tweeps who will be at QED whom I would like meeting in person. I’ll try for next year.

Meanwhile, any of you who come through Florida in the winter should feel free to ping me to go fishing or birding.

Happy Hacking,
cdh

[…] Rather than getting people to apply for these tickets that’ll be won by someone who is selected at… […]

Leave a Comment

Hayley is a ghost

Hayley Stevens is an advocate for science-based research into seemingly paranormal experiences and occurrences. With a background in the pseudo-scientific research into ghosts, Hayley offers a unique insight into the strange world of ghost hunting through her experience.

She describes herself as 'a ghost hunter who doesn't hunt for ghosts' and this is her personal blog where she writes about ghosts, people, and other interesting things. Read more here.

Recommended Posts




Question.Explore.Discover. Back for an encore. Only £89


Those looking for the 'QED Rebel Dinner' click here.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

