Hayley is a Ghost

Cork Skeptics, you rock!

Posted on: October 26, 2011

Last week I visited Edinburgh to talk for the Edinburgh skeptics in the pub group and have a look around the ‘haunted city’. I have a blog post in the works about my trip so do check back for the details – it was an awesome few days.

However, what I wanted to write about was the talk I did for Cork Skeptics in the Pub (well, in the castle to be exact) while I was still in Scotland. It was all done via skype which is such a simple, effective yet overlooked idea that it blew my mind.

Patrick Fisher from the Victoria Skeptics (known as YYJ Skeptics as not to be confused with the other Victoria Skeptics…) was talking alongside myself and Ashley Pryce who helped form Edinburgh skeptics and writes for The 21st Floor.
We spoke about a variety of paranormal subjects between us for over an hour and then took questions from the audience who were in Cork.

It was a really fun experience, it was really well executed and planned and I wanted to write a brief blog to say thank you to Colm from Cork Skeptics, and all of those who worked alongside him (whose names I forget… sorry…) for making that talk happen.

I may be wrong, but it’s the first time I’ve ever heard of a ‘Skeptics in the Pub’ group using such a method to deliver a panel of speakers. I certainly hope it will not be the last.

Okay so I know Skype isn’t a new thing, and I’ve been aware of conference calls for a while… but this was so much more awesome!

A photo showing the conference call in action with Colm from Cork Skeptics standing in front of our camera feeds on the screenColm from Cork Skeptics in person with Me and Ash Pryce (top camera feed), Patrick Fisher (bottom right feed) and random audience members (bottom left feed).

p.s. read an interview I did for Ash Pryce for The 21st Floor here.
p.p.s check out the awesome artwork the Cork Skeptics have for their events! Jealous!

3 Responses to "Cork Skeptics, you rock!"

I have to agree.. This was a lot of fun, and I think it is something that other groups could do to bring many different perspectives from different regions into a group… I’m just sorry that it was a bit too early for me to have a beer.

Thanks Hayley, it was a great evening, and you were all fantastic (and fantastically patient!) throughout. Patrick, my deepest sympathies for your enforced sobriety 😉

By the way, that random audience member (bottom left feed) taking the photo is me!

It was fantastic, and really is something I think other skeptics groups could look into.

Leave a Comment

Hayley is a ghost

Hayley Stevens is an advocate for science-based research into seemingly paranormal experiences and occurrences. With a background in the pseudo-scientific research into ghosts, Hayley offers a unique insight into the strange world of ghost hunting through her experience.

She describes herself as 'a ghost hunter who doesn't hunt for ghosts' and this is her personal blog where she writes about ghosts, people, and other interesting things. Read more here.

Recommended Posts




Question.Explore.Discover. Back for an encore. Only £89


Those looking for the 'QED Rebel Dinner' click here.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

