Hayley is a Ghost

Changes are afoot

Posted on: October 26, 2011

photo of Banksy street art of a beggar with a sign reading 'keep your coins, I want change'For the next month or so I will be ducking out of my Righteous Indignation duties, and I will no longer be as involved with Bath Skeptics in the Pub as I have been in the past. There isn’t anything wrong though, it’s simply because in the last week I have made the decision to change the direction my life is going in.

I’m giving up my full time job and looking for a couple of part time jobs to give myself a more flexible timetable so that I can start to study towards a Bachelors degree in Psychology with the Open University. I will also be embarking on smaller courses that wont help me with a degree, but will help with my education.

I spend so much of my free time working on various projects that I feel passionate about, but hardly any time working on my own life and future and I decided recently to change that. When all of my school friends were going to university I was recovering from a very nasty condition in my ear that was potentially life threatening. Once I was recovered I never really motivated myself to restart my education and just started moving from job to job.

There’s so much I want to learn and do, and I’ve decided that now is the time to do it. I will return to the podcast soon, and I may be able to help out more with Bath Skeptics once things are more settled, but I just wanted to blog about this so to stop people reading into anything.

It’s a scary jump to be making and as it currently stands there’s a lot of uncertainty involved and I’m a bit stressed(especially when it comes to having a job to replace the full time one in time for November – eek), but I’m pretty confident that it’ll all pay off.

So yes, that’s why I will be less involved in certain projects until I can get a better grasp on time management. Don’t panic.

*edit* I forgot to mention that I was inspired to write this as a response to the number of people who begged me not to stop RI because I “inspire them”. That was a bit of a shock, to be honest, and I want to thank you all. I didn’t realise I inspired anybody to do anything other than troll, and it means a lot. *sobs*

10 Responses to "Changes are afoot"

Wishing you the very best with your studies. The OU courses are absolutely excellent from the two I have seen, and I am sure you will excel! Good lucky Hayley, and all the best, and I’m sure you will still find time to write and carry on with your ecellent blog cj x

Good luck Hayley I’m sure you’ll excel at your Bachelors Degree work. Always give yourself ‘me time’ and the rest will take care of itself.

Good luck Hayley! A big challenge to do an OU course and other studies, and I am sure you will do really well. I suspect when you pop back you will find most of us still hanging around!

Good for you! I’m doing exactly the same thing next year (started this year but ended up getting rehired) and it’s a wonderful subject to study. BTW, the interview with you should be up on the CSICOP website soon – and like everyone else, if you can fit in time for skeptical-things, hope to hear of your work!

Aw thanks, but I’m not bowing out completely. I’ll still be doing things, just not as much straight away.

Good luck Hayley. You have demonstrated by your blogs that you have the intellect to succeed. If I won the lottery I’d sponsor you to do a full time degree course. You are inspirational …. now go to it and inspire yourself!

Yeah! You go girl. I did an OU psychology module a year or so ago and I was really impressed with the teaching materials. Bestest of wishes.

I wish you all the very best, Haley. I wish I had your courage to branch out……

Well, I do hope to see you back soon, but I also think this is great for you. Anyway, after, what is it, two to three years of RI, a short break is probably due =)

Good for you! We’ll miss you certainly but this is something you should do for yourself. And when you return we shall be happy 🙂

Leave a Comment

Hayley is a ghost

Hayley Stevens is an advocate for science-based research into seemingly paranormal experiences and occurrences. With a background in the pseudo-scientific research into ghosts, Hayley offers a unique insight into the strange world of ghost hunting through her experience.

She describes herself as 'a ghost hunter who doesn't hunt for ghosts' and this is her personal blog where she writes about ghosts, people, and other interesting things. Read more here.

Recommended Posts




Question.Explore.Discover. Back for an encore. Only £89


Those looking for the 'QED Rebel Dinner' click here.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

