Hayley is a Ghost

Six feet under

Posted on: August 31, 2011

I noticed a ‘click-through’ to my blog that came from a forum called ‘World of ghosts’ so I clicked it out of curiousity and noticed that one of my blog posts (called ‘Dear New Ghost hunter’) was being discussed there. There’s nothing new with my posts being discussed on forums that cover paranormal topics, I had just never heard of this one.

One comment in particular, by ‘Iain’, caught my attention and I wanted to respond to what was said. I could sign up to the forum, but I don’t want to so I thought I’d address the point here where I can clear up this misunderstanding.

Iain said:

“Hayley seems nice, but she says she doesn’t believe in ghosts. Cool. She may not, but that doesn’t mean they don’t exist. The definition of a ghost is apparantly the continual existance of a life force after death which shows its self in the atomical world in some way. Hayley has no concept of what happens when she dies, there for has no oppinion. Nice and simple. Am I then insinuating that ghost exist, of coure not. But I’m still looking, even if I do use some of the methods she puts forward as silly. But pro-active endeavour is one step closer to achievement than mono-visioned denial and none-productive posts or blogs. She may have had fun posting her oppinions, but I think she should research more. Or at all.”

Even if I didn’t have a concept of what happens to me when I die (which I do, actually) I would still have an opinion – it might be an incorrect one or a correct one, but it would still be an opinion regardless. My posts and writing is not “mono-visioned denial’ because I always strive to be factually correct. I am obsessive about detail, to the point of my fellow researchers rolling their eyes at my constant questioning.

Iain is right to say I don’t believe in ghosts and he is also right to say that simply because I choose not to believe in them doesn’t mean they don’t exist. That is a correct assessment. It is the lack of evidence that supports the existence of ghosts that suggests they do not exist.

I am open minded and willing to change my mind should evidence that supports the idea that ghosts are real emerge. Some would argue that such evidence has already been presented, but I have found such ‘evidence’ to be lacking (and I’m not the only one…)

I have outlined my thoughts about death before in a post titled ‘The other side and the end’, but I will outline things once again to counter the idea that I don’t have a concept of what happens when I die (and thus, apparently have no opinion…)

Many people who are more spiritually inclined believe that the ‘life energy’ within us, the very thing that keeps us alive, must be what becomes a ghost or spirit when our bodies die. I used to hold such a belief too.

However, The energy associated with our bodies is chemical energy and that energy transforms when the matter with which it’s associated transforms.

Burn or decompose our bodies and you’ll transform not only our matter but also our energy — from chemical energy to other forms of energy such as heat, light, or to chemical energy stored in somebody/something else’s body (insects, animals, bacteria etc.)

So upon death, the matter and energy associated with our bodies transform into other forms of matter and energy, ones that are no longer organized in a way that create muscles, bones, brains, and internal experiences of hunger, pain, and consciousness.

I am not a scientist (which is probably very obvious) and I only studied science up to GCSE level – yet this information I have about what happens to our bodies when we die was gained through a little research which Iain accused me of needing to do more (or any) of.

I have done plenty of research and arrived at the conclusions I currently hold as a direct result. It is fine to disagree with my thoughts and ideas, but please do not suggest that because I’m not as open minded as you consider yourself to be, it means I am lazy when it comes to my research. Especially when you confess to using methods I have ‘put forwards’ on my site as ‘silly’.

Pic credit: 6pro

3 Responses to "Six feet under"

Hi Hayley,

I posted the link to your ‘Dear new Ghosthunter’ piece as part of a long, ongoing debate on that forum between myself (the resident sceptic) and the less sceptical members. It was a good blog, obviously written from experience that I felt supported my stance on the unscientific nature of the vast majority of ‘ghost hunting’ groups. The member who replied is the founder of a ‘ghost hunting’ group who I have had long debates with regarding the pseudoscientific nature of the equipment employed to detect ghosts.

I don’t suppose you’d be willing to post a link to this post? :p

I’d be perfectly willing to post a link….there, it’s done.

Leave a Comment

Hayley is a ghost

Hayley Stevens is an advocate for science-based research into seemingly paranormal experiences and occurrences. With a background in the pseudo-scientific research into ghosts, Hayley offers a unique insight into the strange world of ghost hunting through her experience.

She describes herself as 'a ghost hunter who doesn't hunt for ghosts' and this is her personal blog where she writes about ghosts, people, and other interesting things. Read more here.

Recommended Posts




Question.Explore.Discover. Back for an encore. Only £89


Those looking for the 'QED Rebel Dinner' click here.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

