Hayley is a Ghost

This ends now

Posted on: July 28, 2011

Anyone who has been to one of my skeptics in the pub talks will know about the horrible things that happened to me when I stopped being a believer in ghosts and related “woo” ideas in 2007. You’ll know about the woman who phoned up the company I worked for and tried to get me sacked simply because I no longer agreed that ghosts existed, and had fallen out with her because of this.

You’ll know about the Wiltshire ghost hunter who phoned up a location that I had arranged to visit for a paranormal investigation and cancelled our investigation – and tried to do the same with another location by sending them text messages warning them not to let us in.

You’ll know about the threats, the abuse, the phone calls, having to call the police & the onlineĀ harassment.

All because of things that happened a long time ago, and because I don’t think like them and – quite frankly – don’t like them any more. Things happen, people change, life goes on… or at least it should.

These last few years as things have progressed and I’ve taken on new opportunities presented to me I’ve always had a cloud hanging over me that has always bittered the experience.

“What will they think? They’ll think I’m being egotistical and vain and they’ll use something from my past to try and catch me out”

It hasn’t exactly been pleasant. This year I’ve had empty legal threats from people trying to shut me up when I write critically about them and what they do, hateful messages have been sent my way by people who don’t even know me but know one of the people I used to be friends with, I’ve had gossip spread about me online and this week the icing on the cake came in the form of a string of anonymous prank calls to my home phone.

So I thought I would just write this blog post to explain to those few bitter people who don’t like me and yet seem to hang around my websites so much that this ends now.

You don’t agree with me, I don’t agree with you, it actually isn’t the end of the world. Grow up, move on and stop it.

I will no longer allow your spiteful opinions of me to cloud decisions I make in the future, and I will no longer care what you happen to think of me because your opinions aren’t important to me.

You can threaten me, you can phone my house and hang up, you can make up rumours or call me names online where I can’t see it, you can write to my boss and try to get me sacked, but it wont make me go away because when all you can do is throw muck it proves to me that you have no argument against what I do and what I say, only against who I am – and I wont be changing who I am for anyone.

By all means criticise me, but have the guts to do so directly and not behind my back, by all means challenge what I say and prove me wrong… however some of the behaviour I’ve had to deal with is pathetic.

If you don’t like me, I don’t actually care. This ends now.

6 Responses to "This ends now"

I really hope they leave you alone and I agree that if they do this is because they don’t really have anything better to say, you don’t deserve this.

Stay strong.

I probably did some things to antagonise people in the past. I know when the nasty stuff was posted about me all over the web I retaliated, but we all do stupid stuff. Life goes on though…

Good for you. Cowards need not be given any time or attention. Honest agents who want a dialogue are welcome.

I received some prank calls a year or so ago at 3am, playing music down the line. They didn’t withold their number and a quick search on Google threw up some postings made by the person in question on a forum. I sent them a text message later in the day stating I now knew their address (which I did) and I would be paying them a visit unless they gave it up. After doing some more digging I came to the conclusion that this person was very ill.

I know one of the people causing the problems – they didn’t cover their tracks on one occasion.

I hope you’ve been meticulously recording each and every event; even simply making a report to the Police – with an understanding that it may not be successful to follow up, will at least five you excellent grounds – and evidence – that the harassment has be real and on-going.

The moment you feel your safety is in a real and imminent danger — follow it up.

Leave a Comment

Hayley is a ghost

Hayley Stevens is an advocate for science-based research into seemingly paranormal experiences and occurrences. With a background in the pseudo-scientific research into ghosts, Hayley offers a unique insight into the strange world of ghost hunting through her experience.

She describes herself as 'a ghost hunter who doesn't hunt for ghosts' and this is her personal blog where she writes about ghosts, people, and other interesting things. Read more here.

Recommended Posts




Question.Explore.Discover. Back for an encore. Only £89


Those looking for the 'QED Rebel Dinner' click here.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

