Hayley is a Ghost

I’m different

Posted on: June 20, 2011

I’ve been musing over why people who believe in ghosts might resent me or dislike me because recently my blog and facebook wall havebeen inundated with negative, angry comments from people who don’t like the way I think. Essentially I think that the reason people don’t like the way in which I blog is because I openly doubt the things that consider to be true or possible.

It dawned on me though that a majority of the people who criticise me for the way in which I think overlook one very big difference between me and them, and it isn’t that I don’t believe in ghosts/aliens/monsters and they do because that’s an obvious one.
The difference that I am talking about is the fact that I once used to believe in the things that I write about today from a skeptical angle, and I became more skeptical of the things I believed.

Yet, if the right information was presented to me I would be more than happy to change the way in which I think, yet the very people who criticise me for being closed minded, or for being skeptical, wouldn’t be as willing to change their opinions when information that contrasts with their current opinions is presented to them. How do I know this? Because they refuse to do so right now when evidence that shows their ideas are wrong is made available to them.

I’ve always believed that you cannot force someone to change their mind, and neither should you try to do so. I think it’s important to make information available so that when people become curious they can find it. I know this happens because I often check the google search terms that found my blog and the questions asked are usually quite revealing.

“Are orbs ghosts?”

“Can ghosts talk to you via a baby monitor?”

“Is it true that an EMF shows a ghost?”

“What does it mean when I feel a cold spot?”

It’s cool that people are finding my blog by searching such questions and I truly hope they found the answers they’re looking for, but it demonstrates something that is fundementally wrong with the way in which some of my most vocal critics think. Until you are willing to doubt yourself and the things that you believe to be true, you aren’t as open minded as you like to think.

10 Responses to "I’m different"

I do still doubt some of my convictions, and would truly love the good evidence for the supernatural to exist- imagine the benefit to humanity if telekinesis existed, or how amazing it would be to see our loved ones again (I would do almost anything for just 5 minutes with my nan again, its still such a massive impact 8 years later) and have had long in depth discussions with a friend (whilst on my journey to skepticism- and thats what it is for me, a journey) about the supernatural and at the time looked at what I thought was the “science” but after further digging and not allowing my own biases to interfere I found more and more about how and why we experience these things.

I do sometimes think, “What if I’m wrong” and do genuinely ponder that question. I accept full well that I may be wrong in my convictions. However sadly, the evidence (or rather lack of good evidence) is on “our” side. nearly all claims of the supernatural can be explained, and those that can’t fall into the “unexplained” category.

I do too. I’ve had experiences I cannot explain and I often think “what if I’m wrong and what I saw was a deceased person?” and the weight of getting that wrong is felt heavily each time.

yeah, there is always a bitter sadness for me afterward. But as hard as it is we have to face the evidence.

I think more believers need to realise that we really aren’t doing this to be troublesome and take away people’s hope- many of us would love to be wrong.

Last Monday night, my only remaining Auntie died.

Yesterday afternoon, my phone rang, showing Auntie’s number……I thought it might be my cousin, with some information about the funeral.

When I answered, though, I got static – and a small distant voice said, ‘Hello, Margaret, is that you?’

Thing was that the voice had an Irish accent – and Auntie was Irish…..!

I aksed you on the other post you commented on if you knew where her phone was. Could you send this through to me via the ‘contact me’ page if you want me to help you research what happened? Thanks.

I don’t think this phenomenon is limited to paranormal believers, though it appears particularly rampant in that subset of the population. I encounter this in discussion on politics, religion, even music. “Everyone *else* should be more open minded”.

Haley, I think it’s great that you saw evidence/new information and changed your mind. If only more people in the world were genuinely open minded enough to say “oh, I now I know this I realise I was wrong about that”

It’s not a woman’s prerogative to change their mind, it’s an educated human’s duty (when presented with evidence*)

*abuse of the word evidence not withstanding

erm, anyway, I’ve gone a bit waffly, I meant to say – good on ya 🙂

As we know our brains appear to be hardwired to believe in agency and project narrative to random data we process through our senses.So it is unsuprising that we should seek the reward of percieving patterns where there are none.
This does not however remove the genuine angst of not having the “comfort” of the slight chance there might be an afterlife for those that once belived in it .
I suppose what I am saying is if you never believed in ghosts et al then you will never feel that paticular pain. But if you once did you will always have that niggle somewhere in your thought processes.

I am one of those for whom no evidence would persuade that ghosts or indeed any supernatural entity or event was real.

I think it was A C Grayling who posed the question “What would you really do if a Monty Python sized hand with extended forefinger pointing at your head appeared from the clouds accompanied by a deep Paul Robeson voice asking ‘now, do you believe in me ?'”

Would you (a) believe the evidence that there was a ‘god’ (b) question your perception of the event (c) question your sanity.

I’d question my perception, and my mental health, long before giving any consideration to this brand of evidence.

Leave a Comment

Hayley is a ghost

Hayley Stevens is an advocate for science-based research into seemingly paranormal experiences and occurrences. With a background in the pseudo-scientific research into ghosts, Hayley offers a unique insight into the strange world of ghost hunting through her experience.

She describes herself as 'a ghost hunter who doesn't hunt for ghosts' and this is her personal blog where she writes about ghosts, people, and other interesting things. Read more here.

Recommended Posts




Question.Explore.Discover. Back for an encore. Only £89


Those looking for the 'QED Rebel Dinner' click here.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

