Hayley is a Ghost

My first visit to a crop circle

Posted on: May 4, 2011

“Crop circles are boring! Why not visit something like Avebury instead?” I grumbled into my microphone during the recording of another episode of the Righteous Indignation podcast. It was a few months ago now, but the words echoed through my head as I waded through chest-deep rape seed oil crop, trying to locate the centre of the crop circle that had been photographed in the field recently.

What made me decide to go and visit a crop circle? Well, I’ve been ill lately and my doctor told me that getting out and about would help me recover. When I read that a circle had been found in Avebury, Wiltshire (which isn’t that far from home) I decided it was the perfect time to get out as my doctor had instructed, while visiting a crop circle as many people had insisted I did for quite some time now. I was able to kill two birds with one stone, so to speak.

Crop cricles have always been artistic creations that I have admired photographs of, but I’ve never really understood the obsession people have for visiting the sites these circles are made in.

It had been over an hour since we’d stopped in a small road-side parking bay and made our way into the field that we finally found the circle. It was the first crop circle I have ever stood in, and although I didn’t feel any energy or presence as many people who flock to these sorts of formations report, I did sense the wonder of the design. To know what the design looked like from above and to try and picture it as you stood inside it was an interesting experience.

I grew up in a farming village and because of this the impact of the ruining of crops does sit heavily at the back of mind because as children we would be told off for playing in crop fields before the farmer had collected his harvest. However, to see perfectly curved lines laying out in front of you in the crop, the stalks of which are all laying down upon one another in one direction, is quite a beautiful thing.

I should probably explain now that I do not believe these circles are created by aliens or anything paranormal in nature – I believe they are created by humans. In fact it was clear to see that a stomping board had been used as some of the stalks of crop were snapped at the bottom.

I recorded some audio that will be on a future episode of the Righteous Indignation Podcast, including an interview with a couple we met in the circle who believed the circle was created by aliens and Earth energies.

Even though I don’t agree with them, it was lovely to hear about why they had visited the circle, and what significance it had for them. As the man, Steve, commented, these circles give people something to visit, they’re interesting, and they bring people together – people who probably wouldn’t have spoken had it not been for the fact that they were all awkwardly standing in the middle of a field.

I am slowly becoming a crop circle fan. Oh dear.

To view my photos from the day click here to be taken to a facebook gallery.

6 Responses to "My first visit to a crop circle"

I suspect that knowing and liking someone who makes crop circles eases your concern about damage to crops…

Still it’s funny what some people will believe (I.e. Crop circles made by aliens!) and winding them is just sport. Looking forward to the RI episode 🙂

P.s. Hoping you have to see the doc less frequently in future…

It doesn’t ease my concern as such, but it gives me both sides of a problem to consider.

There are two things I really think you took from yesterday:

One, an appreciation of how the circles fit into the landscape and even add to it. Two, the effect they have on visitors: how people interact with them and find them spiritual or engaging places regardless of belief. Just locating them, the smells and the navigation are all part of the experience.

With regard to the crop damage I don’t think there is an ethical, watertight defence for the makers unless the farmer is compensated. If there is any consolation it is that this field is traditionally a site for circles to appear in and the farmer probably expects it. In the wider context the circles are a huge tourist draw for the local area.

Thank you for helping me find it! It was actually really good fun. Walking through the crops took me back to my childhood, when we would play hide and seek in wheat fields 😀

I’m disappointed that crop circles aren’t a going concern here in the States, I’d love to visit a site.

[…] Daily Mail reports on the Crop Circle visited in the RI report. Hayley’s blog about the visit to the crop circle (with photos) Share and […]

Leave a Comment

Hayley is a ghost

Hayley Stevens is an advocate for science-based research into seemingly paranormal experiences and occurrences. With a background in the pseudo-scientific research into ghosts, Hayley offers a unique insight into the strange world of ghost hunting through her experience.

She describes herself as 'a ghost hunter who doesn't hunt for ghosts' and this is her personal blog where she writes about ghosts, people, and other interesting things. Read more here.

Recommended Posts




Question.Explore.Discover. Back for an encore. Only £89


Those looking for the 'QED Rebel Dinner' click here.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

