Hayley is a Ghost

I am female, so?

Posted on: June 30, 2010

I have noticed quite a lot of discussion recently about female skeptics and the “lack” of them. Although it is something that is an issue that needs to be sorted out (attendance at skeptical events, female speakers and so on…) I often think that some people tackle the problem in the wrong way. This is just my opinion though, I’m not a psychologist or anything similar so I don’t know if it’s just me that thinks of this like I do.

See, I’m a rational person, a rational thinker, a skeptic – whatever you choose to call it, but I never refer to myself as a female rational thinker/skeptic because my gender has never really been the key factor for me and I certainly hope that it hasn’t for anyone who visits this blog, listens to the podcast, goes to one of my talks etc.  

It certainly annoys me slightly when someone does refer to me as “the female presenter”.

I just get on with what I do without making my gender the main part of the deal (because, like I say, to me it isn’t.) I often see people blogging about how they are a female skeptic and they wish there were more – well, I agree that it would be great to see more females becoming more vocally skeptical, and I adore organisations like Ladies who do skepticism & She thought.

It is important that we encourage more women to become comfortable with their skepticism to a point where they are happy to blog or become more involved with the community. I just don’t think continually going on about the gender divide will do huge amounts of good and, I personally think that considering somebody, or labelling somebody as “a female skeptic” probably just adds to the chasm between female and male skeptics, rather than doing something to close it.

2 Responses to "I am female, so?"

I agree Hayley, tokenism is not the way to go.

However, we do need to look at reasons why some women are interested, but do not get involved beyond one or two meetings, and why when event organizers ask women to participate as speakers, they often decline.

Of course, my take on it is sexism, but I am interested in more opinions.

I’ve seen a few comments on this recently – mainly about the plethora of males amongst atheists.
With the groups I know it’s been more or less equal numbers, however labelling someone (as you mention) is a little OTT in my opinion.

Ps – I was at the talk last night: were there more men or women?!

Leave a Comment

Hayley is a ghost

Hayley Stevens is an advocate for science-based research into seemingly paranormal experiences and occurrences. With a background in the pseudo-scientific research into ghosts, Hayley offers a unique insight into the strange world of ghost hunting through her experience.

She describes herself as 'a ghost hunter who doesn't hunt for ghosts' and this is her personal blog where she writes about ghosts, people, and other interesting things. Read more here.

Recommended Posts




Question.Explore.Discover. Back for an encore. Only £89


Those looking for the 'QED Rebel Dinner' click here.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

