Hayley is a Ghost

A bully? Me?

Posted on: June 28, 2010

I haven’t had much time to blog about this because I’ve been hugely busy preparing for my talk in Bristol this coming Wednesday, editing the next episode of Righteous Indignation and getting ready to put in a guest host appearance on the Just Skeptics podcast produced by the Greater Manchester skeptics.

It’s all been demanding stuff and now I finally have a moment to write about an accusation that was made earlier this week that annoyed me a lot.

You may or may not have read my blogpost about the recent threat of legal action sent to me by Haunted Realm paranormal investigations and why I said they were woo and less-than-rational. If not then please read it now or you will become confused.

I received no response from either Kirsty or Jonathan, the team founders, which was a shame because the reason I made the blog post was so that they would have the right to respond, defend their position and actions and prove me wrong if they so wished to, but they didn’t and so I thought “well, let that be that then” and got on with my life.

Then, the next day I received a google-alert that advertised a blog post with Wiltshire Phenomena Research mentioned in it and so I went and had a look and was quite surprised to find that Kirsty, the co-founder of Haunted Realm had made a blog with just one blog post on it called ‘The skeptical bully’.

This is Hayley Stevens cyber bully

Hayley Stevens is a skeptic who runs a paranormal group called Wiltshire Phenomena Research even though she quotes on her blog “I was clueless ghost hunter who has since become a rational, skeptical researcher who rarely visits locations to hunt for ghosts” because I know better” doesn’t this sound rather hypocritical to you? When she runs a phenomena research group yet doesn’t like going on investigations it certainly does to me.

Hayley also has two more hobbies she loves to persue which is cyber bullying and bullying people in general. Hayley loves to bully people by emailing then malicious messages and by going on their website and complaining about the research they do and about their work she also loves to write blogs bout other groups and investigators. In these blogs she likes to rip people/groups apart she also has people who follow her who love to join in on the bullying, I find this totally disgusting and morally wrong. Hayley has even bullied people to the point that they have had to get the police involved and even seek legal advice because of her underhand bullying tactics.

Just because she is a skeptic it doesn’t mean she should criticise and bully other people for what they believe in and the work they do I mean I know many skeptics (I am even in a relationship with one) and they are all nice fair people who are willing to take onboard what other peoples opinions and views are.

She even admits that one person had to threaten to get the police involved on a website she posted on regarding someone she had aimed an attack upon quoted here “I was accused of being a liar and threatened with the police” how can someone boast about being a bully and by making someone else’s life a misery.

I know Hayley loves to write blogs about people/groups and rip them apart so I thought it was high time someone wrote about her and her underhand bullying!. I hope Karma turns around one day and bites her on the ass.

I had wanted to reply to the above post on Kirsty’s blog and had set about wording something in my head that sounded right but, when I went to respond, the blog post had been deleted. It’s lucky I took screen shots or I would have forgotten what it said. Phew.

I want to address the points made in Kirsty’s post because she makes untrue accusations that, to be quite frank, I could have sought legal advice over had the blog post not been removed (something that is quite ironic when you consider it was Kirsty that initially threatened to take legal action against me for linking to her blog and calling her team woo!)

Hayley Stevens is a skeptic who runs a paranormal group called Wiltshire Phenomena Research even though she quotes on her blog “I was clueless ghosthunter who has since become a rational, skeptical researcher who rarely visits locations to hunt for ghosts” because I know better” doesn’t this sound rather hypocritical to you? When she runs a phenomena research group yet doesn’t like going on investigations it certainly does to me.

Kirsty, this is not hypocritical of me really when you read the quote in context. See, you probably got that quote from this blogpost I made recently.

In that very post I then go on to say, right after the bit you quoted:

My aims and goals have changed; back then I wanted to find out if ghosts existed, why they existed, how they did etc. and now I have a much better understanding of how ghost phenomena and odd experiences work.

My aims have changed to wanting to help other people understand the same and to show how some people make fallacious arguments regarding their beliefs and use the wrong research methods.

Quote mining is a pathetic way to attempt to ridicule somebody, so try harder next time. Kirsty went on to say:

Hayley also has two more hobbies she loves to persue which is cyber bullying and bullying people in general.

Firstly, I am not and never have been a bully or a cyberbully. Be careful with the accusations you make because that’s quite a serious thing to accuse somebody of. Also, as someone who experienced bullying at school that led to my diagnoses of severe social anxiety when I was younger, I would never put somebody through that kind of thing even if you paid me and I take great offence to being likened to a bully.

I called Kirsty’s team out on their “woo” and less rational way of investigating. This is not bullying, it is me expressing my opinion and I did so in a fair, polite manner (see the original blog post about this issue I linked to at the top of this post.)

If I had bullied Kirsty or her team I would have openly mocked them in public, degraded them and attacked them personally… you know, a bit like Kirsty did in her blog about me. Who’s calling who a hypocrite? Hmm?

Hayley loves to bully people by emailing then malicious messages and by going on their website and complaining about the research they do and about their work she also loves to write blogs bout other groups and investigators.

There have been no malicious messages to the HRPI team from me, I would like to see evidence of those but I wont hold my breath. As for going onto websites and complaining abut the research – I only do that when the team are woo and less than rational (oooh, I did it again… naughty me.)

In these blogs she likes to rip people/groups apart she also has people who follow her who love to join in on the bullying, I find this totally disgusting and morally wrong.

I don’t “rip” people and groups apart. I would like Kirsty to link to those posts in which I have done that. I seriously just give my opinions on the behaviour and findings of paranormal teams who cross an ethical line on their case studies. As for my followers, well, those would be my blog readers who choose to either agree or disagree with what I write. I have no control over what they say. If you find what I do on my blog disgusting or morally wrong my only suggestion would be to suggest that you fuck off and stop reading my blog.

Hayley has even bullied people to the point that they have had to get the police involved and even seek legal advice because of her underhand bullying tactics.

I will clarify right now that this has never, ever happened. I have never had the police called on me because I have bullied somebody. I wasn’t even sure where Kirsty got this idea from and then I remembered that in the process of helping to debunk the ‘spiritual healer’ Nina Knowland, Nina alluded to the idea that she had gotten the police involved at a local level (she lives in the same town as I do… I was that local level.) The police never visited me, I was never called by the police. I broke no laws, why would the police visit me?

The only people who have ever sought legal advice about the things I write are people like Kirsty whose woo and less than rational behaviour (damn it,  I just can’t stop) who it is I have written about, which is just coincidental, I’m sure.

Just because she is a skeptic it doesn’t mean she should criticise and bully other people for what they believe in and the work they do I mean I know many skeptics (I am even in a relationship with one) and they are all nice fair people who are willing to take onboard what other peoples opinions and views are.

Skeptics are a varied bunch of people and I don’t speak for all of them, but when I come across a paranormal team who claim to have caught a picture of an evil spirit in someone’s home and really ham-up the scary stuff in front of the location owner (claiming to have been scratched, pulled, pushed, overwhelmed etc.) I will criticise that team. I also wont apologise for it. I take into consideration that other people have beliefs and opinions that I don’t agree with and I will defend those freedoms of yours in any way I can, but it doesn’t mean I am also going to just turn a blind eye and not speak up when I think something is wrong.

If you want to make outlandish claims on a website, claims that you cannot scientifically back up and you expect that no one at all is going to challenge what you say then you aren’t being very realistic at all. My advice would be to deal with it, take constructive criticism like a truly open-minded person would and think about what has been said. Maybe I’m expecting miracles though?

She even admits that one person had to threaten to get the police involved on a website she posted on regarding someone she had aimed an attack upon quoted here “I was accused of being a liar and threatened with the police” how can someone boast about being a bully and by making someone else’s life a misery.

More quote mining here from Kirsty in an attempt to make me look evil. The actual context of this quote can be seen here where I say:

“A while ago I was involved in the exposure of a local ‘spiritual healer’ who claimed to be able to cure cancer – a claim that was removed from their site shortly after it was pointed out how the claim was – er, slightly illegal. I was accused of being a liar and threatened with the police. However, the screen caps are available for everyone to see.”

Does that look like boasting to you? It doesn’t to me, it was simply me telling the reader what had happened, get real Kirsty, your silly accusations are quite tiresome, but still, here’s the last bit:

I know Hayley loves to write blogs about people/groups and rip them apart so I thought it was high time someone wrote about her and her underhand bullying!. I hope Karma turns around one day and bites her on the ass.

Hi Karma. Bring it the fuck on.

Kirsty, your behaviour is pathetic, and the fact that you didn’t have the guts to stand by what you said and removed the post once your realised people had read it is cowardly. Just like when you removed the report and pictures about the Calne investigation from your website that I linked to when you realised I wasn’t going to take the links down.

If you think calling me names and quote mining me is going to upset me then you are so very, very wrong. It’s nothing I haven’t experienced before, and I’ve experienced even worse at the hands of people whose claims I’ve challenged. They didn’t stop me speaking up when I saw misinformation or bullshit written down or spread to other people, and neither will you.

Take the hint, yeah?

18 Responses to "A bully? Me?"

You were way too nice.

I tried to be a bit mean! I said fuck!

If you are considered a mean bully of a skeptic I would love to see who they consider a kind fair skeptic. Just because one disagrees does not equate mean and bullying unless one suffers from incredibly thin skin or lack a rationally coherent argument. Here, here for Ms. Stevens.

She deleted her cyber bullying blog thing. And never allowed or responded to any of my comments. I would have liked to have had the opportunity to hear her side of the story. Her lack of communication makes her look bad, but I certainly don’t know the whole story.

Did you have to get that hat made especially with holes in so that your horns can poke through?

This was an awesome read. Good stuff Hayley. She truly seemed like a moron.

Just found the Haunted Realm founder biographies …

http://www.haunted-realm.com/meetthecofounders.htm

A woman who had imaginary friends as a child but never grew out of believing in them, and confuses memories of her grandmother with being in contact with her after her death. Also a man who calls himself a hardened skeptic and yet has spent 7 years as a paranormal researcher as a result of failing to identify a row of Chinese lanterns in the sky. Does not inspire confidence.

I came to the chinese lantern theory too, it fits perfectly. Ignorance is bliss…

Just followed the link supplied by Trinoc and hahaha she just sounds like such a nutcase just as the other guy sounds so clearly either misinformed or just dumb.

Sorry if i sound insensitive but yeah Ignorance does seem to factor in these peoples lives predominantly.

The website is good though it has some right funny pictures on and with the bio’s of the people it makes it more amusing.

Plus the lack of factual evidence and the dominance of anecdotal evidence i have found makes me chuckle.

Check this out. http://www.haunted-realm.com/submittedphotos2.htm

I don’t think calling these people a nutcase or dumb is proactive in any sense and it almost justifies the comments made about bullying, and my followers picking on people. :/

Not that I have “followers”…

Sorry if i caused any offense my fingers typed without me thinking as much about the content….

Haunted Realm Paranormal Investigations… must be a coincidence that the acronym sounds like harpie.

Damn their blogpost about you being a bully is down…Silly silly paranormalists.

It really makes me laugh when you get called mean or a bully because whenever that happens I always think of you apologizing for laughing into a pillow during one of the RI Podcast interviews.

Kirsty Stevens is a nightmare, she plagerized my website, I told her she was in breach of copyright and to remove MY work off her site, she didnt. Then she had the audacity to say she was going to phone the police and get me arrested! She is a the biggest self-deceptive going!

Oh, YOU are the ones that they were phoning the police on then. We did wonder 😀 Welcome to the cyber bully club! We have cookies here.

Hehe…one of many by the sounds of it!! Have you any chocolate bourbons? 😉

[…] of the comments left on prominent skeptic Hayley Stevens blog. Allegations levelled against Hayley include bullying and slander: “are you aware that dead connections paranormal team has insurance against […]

Leave a Comment

Hayley is a ghost

Hayley Stevens is an advocate for science-based research into seemingly paranormal experiences and occurrences. With a background in the pseudo-scientific research into ghosts, Hayley offers a unique insight into the strange world of ghost hunting through her experience.

She describes herself as 'a ghost hunter who doesn't hunt for ghosts' and this is her personal blog where she writes about ghosts, people, and other interesting things. Read more here.

Recommended Posts




Question.Explore.Discover. Back for an encore. Only £89


Those looking for the 'QED Rebel Dinner' click here.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

