Hayley is a Ghost

I’m back!

Posted on: May 16, 2010

You probably didn’t even know I had gone but for three days I didn’t have a connection to the internet because my laptop was missing a driver and it was hell. The world continued to turn, I continued to eat, breathe, sleep and exist but every time I thought “I’ll go check my email” or “I’m going to blog about this” or “I’ll go listen to a podcast to kill time” I couldn’t. It was maddening and strangely lonely and it felt like we, as a family, had been cut off from the rest of the world.

Luckily I had stuff to be getting on with. For example, yesterday we did an investigation at the allegedly haunted Black swan hotel, but it was still uncomfortable to not have the web at my fingertips ready to find me anything I needed.

It made me think of how wonderful the world wide web is and how much I take it for granted.

For those few days I missed people that I have never met in real life. I wasn’t able to check twitter to see what was being said and what was trending. I couldn’t listen to any podcasts or any music that wasn’t on a CD (as my MP3 player had run out of charge at the most inconvenient time.) On the plus side though I did find some CD’s I forgot I had and so I got to listen to music I had missed out on so that was really cool.

I also discovered I had a CD called ‘Thunder’ which is literally juts a recording of a thunder storm; I figured it’s from my days of being woo. It was quite relaxing to listen to, but it also shows the depth of boredom I sunk to. Sat in my room, reading a book, listening to a thunder CD.

I’ve heard people comment that people become dependent on the internet and that it’s unhealthy, and although I agree that spending too much time online can be unhealthy for you, the internet itself is a marvel that we should never view as anything else and, although lots of negative things have come from the internet, lots of good has as well.

It’s wonderful that I can speak to people from all over the world without having to leave my house. My grandparents can’t get their head around the idea and I have promised that one day I will set my grandad up on Skype so that he can chat to his brother in Australia (my grandparents don’t have a computer. They see it as unnecessary…)

If it wasn’t for the internet I would never have met any of the people I know now. None of my friends would be my friends, I wouldn’t be involved with Righteous Indignation or Weird events and it would be very lonely.

I am soooo glad I have my connection back. I’ll never under appreciate the internet again. Phew. *hugs the internet* never EVER leave me again! You fiend!

2 Responses to "I’m back!"

I tend to go mostly offline on weekends, as we’re out running errands/getting kids outside/etc ad nauseum, but it’s still there if I need it. While I’m awake I doubt I go more than 15 minutes without using the internet in some way shape or form.

So welcome back.

I had loads of odd jobs around the house you could have done. I would have even given you a lift.

Like facebook, but with DIY and a spade.

Leave a Comment

Hayley is a ghost

Hayley Stevens is an advocate for science-based research into seemingly paranormal experiences and occurrences. With a background in the pseudo-scientific research into ghosts, Hayley offers a unique insight into the strange world of ghost hunting through her experience.

She describes herself as 'a ghost hunter who doesn't hunt for ghosts' and this is her personal blog where she writes about ghosts, people, and other interesting things. Read more here.

Recommended Posts




Question.Explore.Discover. Back for an encore. Only £89


Those looking for the 'QED Rebel Dinner' click here.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

