Hayley is a Ghost

Victory for common sense

Posted on: February 3, 2010

As visitors to my blog will recall I recently made a big fuss over an article in a local free magazine called ‘A local life’ in which a local homeopath was allowed to freely promote the idea that flu vaccinations didn’t work, but his homeopathic remedies would be a substitute for warding off the flu, or helping to treat it.

You can read the two articles I wrote about that here and here.

I made various complaints and sent various emails to the people behind the article and magazine but it seemed my point wasn’t getting through as they simply couldn’t understand what it was I was complaining about. Myself and another skeptic blogger – skeptic letters – who kindly helped me with my complaints wrote to several people including the ASA and PCC but all seemed to be unable to help due to the nature of the publication and article. It was frustrating to say the least but I started to come around to the idea that perhaps there was nothing I could do. I’d written my blog, I’d spread the word and that was all I could do, but at least I’d tried.

Roll on a couple of weeks and as I walked into our living room this morning my mum pointed to the computer desk in the corner upon which was sat the latest edition of ‘A local life.’ My eyes widened and she smiled and said “He’s in there again, page 17.”

My mum’s good like that. I flicked through and found the page and was dismayed to see an article about how homeopathy can ‘combat the effects of stress and overcome anxiety and depression.’

Now this in itself is an impressive boast because as somebody who has been diagnosed with social anxiety and panic disorder I know that even my doctor (who gives me medication with active ingredients in) can’t combat it completely.

I was however, rather pleased that as I read through the article I realised that my moaning may have payed off because this time Andrew had written statistics and had pointed out how what he was writing was ‘his opinion.’

The real icing on the cake however came in the form of a box underneath the article that read, in bold letters:

“You should always seek medical advice for any condition from your family doctor.”

You have no idea how happy this has made me. It’s only a small step, but it’s a step in the right direction and it has proven to me that sometimes standing up and speaking out about something you think is wrong will make a difference. Even if you don’t feel like it will at the time.

Leave a Comment

Hayley is a ghost

Hayley Stevens is an advocate for science-based research into seemingly paranormal experiences and occurrences. With a background in the pseudo-scientific research into ghosts, Hayley offers a unique insight into the strange world of ghost hunting through her experience.

She describes herself as 'a ghost hunter who doesn't hunt for ghosts' and this is her personal blog where she writes about ghosts, people, and other interesting things. Read more here.

Recommended Posts




Question.Explore.Discover. Back for an encore. Only £89


Those looking for the 'QED Rebel Dinner' click here.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

